A Game of Thrones

This is a series that has been on my to do list for quite a few months now. It fits in so well with my nerdy side too, bringing to life my love for Renaissance. Turns out… I first discussed the books with my Aunt at the Renaissance Fair. Haven’t read the books yet, buuut, I started watching the tv show. Can I just say, “Holy vulgarity”? Heads up to anyone considering watching – it definitely should have an R rating, for just about anything you can think of. Not sure how the books compare (as far as content), but I can’t wait to find out! Hopefully, I can start the books alongside the show soon.

To give you a little recap, the story takes place in the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros, a mythical place based on the work of the author George RR Martin. This fantasy world brings to life the violent dynastic struggles among the kingdom’s noble families for control of the Iron Throne; as the series opens, additional threats from the snow and ice covered region north of Westeros and from the eastern continent, Essos, across a narrow sea are simultaneously beginning to rise. The plot highlights the Stark, Baratheon, and Lannister families, along with the Dothraki people, and many other players in this ‘game’.

Right away though, the characters are incredibly strong. There are major douches who I want to punch in the face the minute I see them on screen: the Crown Prince of the Seven Kingdoms, Joffrey Baratheon, his mother, Cersei Lannister, and his betrothed, Sansa Stark (seeing a pattern here?). And then there are the characters you fist punch the air for when they kick butt: Arya Stark, Tyrion Lannister, Khal Drogo and his super cool wife. You all are probably thinking, “I have no clue who these wizards are…” No worries! I’m gonna shed a little insight, at least to a couple characters.

Arya is the youngest daughter of the Stark family. Maybe I like her so much because I like to think that she completely embodies my personality. She’s already told her daddy that she’s not having any babies for a nobleman or prince – she’s going to be more than just a compliant house wife. Within the first four episodes, she’s already starting taking “dancing” lessons, where she practices sword fighting with a private trainer. I love it. 

Another of my favorite characters is Tyrion Lannister, the ‘imp’. He is a dwarf, and for all of you who are familiar with medieval times you know that little fact didn’t make him too popular. Sir Lannister is completely aware of this however, and knows he has to use his advantages whenever they come along. Hence, the wickedly awesome quote in the picture. I hope some of you might consider watching or reading soon! Follow along as I make my way through it as well, if you like – I’d be  delighted. 🙂

P.S. Ode to the wonderful author who wrote the series!! Props to you if you figured out he’s also the man who said the quote this blog is based on!

Leave a Reply

